Categories
Brotherly love flowers Gardening God Spirituality

Am I my brother’s keeper?

and other Bible verses I have been pondering, in no particular order

When God asked Cain where Abel was, after Cain killed him… “I don’t know,” he answered. “Am I supposed to take care of my brother?” (Genesis 4:9)

Chamomile, it grows wild in my garden. God’s way of telling me to chill out, perhaps?

Then the Lord said to Moses, “Why are you crying out to me? Tell the people to get moving!”

Exodus 14:15

There is a time to get MOVING — that was a lesson from last year’s VBS. Sometimes we have to stop praying and start moving! Moving prayerfully is always recommended.

I was finally successful at growing peonies on my third attempt! They smelled glorious!! ❤

What good is it, dear brothers and sisters, if you say you have faith but don’t show it by your actions? Can that kind of faith save anyone? Suppose you see a brother or sister who has no food or clothing, and you say, “Good-bye and have a good day; stay warm and eat well”—but then you don’t give that person any food or clothing. What good does that do?

So you see, faith by itself isn’t enough. Unless it produces good deeds, it is dead and useless….

Just as the body is dead without breath, so also faith is dead without good works.

James 14-17, 26
Ants contribute to the opening of the peonies. Did you know that?

Then Jesus’ mother and brothers came to see him. They stood outside and sent word for him to come out and talk with them. There was a crowd sitting around Jesus, and someone said, “Your mother and your brothers are outside asking for you.” Jesus replied, “Who is my mother? Who are my brothers? Then he looked at those around him and said, “Look, these are my mother and brothers. Anyone who does God’s will is my brother and sister and mother.”

Mark 3:31-35

In Luke 10:29 (A teacher of the law asked Jesus) “Who is my neighbor?” (to which Jesus replied with the story of the good Samaritan):

Jesus replied with an illustration: “A Jew going on a trip from Jerusalem to Jericho was attacked by bandits. They stripped him of his clothes and money, and beat him up and left him lying half dead beside the road.

“By chance a Jewish priest came along; and when he saw the man lying there, he crossed to the other side of the road and passed him by. A Jewish Temple-assistant walked over and looked at him lying there, but then went on.

“But a despised Samaritan came along, and when he saw him, he felt deep pity. Kneeling beside him the Samaritan soothed his wounds with medicine and bandaged them. Then he put the man on his donkey and walked along beside him till they came to an inn, where he nursed him through the night. The next day he handed the innkeeper two twenty-dollar bills and told him to take care of the man. ‘If his bill runs higher than that,’ he said, ‘I’ll pay the difference the next time I am here.’

 “Now which of these three would you say was a neighbor to the bandits’ victim?”

The man replied, “The one who showed him some pity.”

Then Jesus said, “Yes, now go and do the same.”

Luke 10:30-37
This day lily was a gift from a neighbor! We have a variety of neighbors, some more kind than others…

For we know that all creation has been groaning as in the pains of childbirth right up to the present time.

Romans 8:22
The bees are very busy!

One reply on “Am I my brother’s keeper?”

Leave a comment